September 8, 2022

Farnsworth Award Winners

Congratulations to the MVCC city staff, volunteer producers, and MVCC staff!

The 2022 Philo T. Farnsworth Awards were just announced, recognizing excellence in cable programming within the Ohio, Michigan, Kentucky, and Indiana region.

What’s a Philo? The festival is named after Philo T. Farnsworth, the father of modern television. Philo was born August 19, 1906 on a farm near Beaver City, Utah. As a youth in 1922, Philo first revealed his scientific ideas for an all-electric television system. He later established an electronics laboratory in Fort Wayne, Indiana, where he succeeded in turning his dreams into reality by inventing the first receiving tube for television transmissions.

It is fitting that the ACM Central States Region honors the memory of Philo T. Farnsworth by recognizing the efforts of modern day pioneers who work to further develop the use of this technology and promote the use of media in our communities. The “PHILO” is awarded as recognition of excellence in media creation.

What’s this Festival about? The Philo Festival of Media Arts is all about you: the media producer. It’s a unique combination of competition, collaboration, educational and creative content hosted by the Central States Alliance for Community Media. The event offers invaluable networking opportunities and immersion into the creative art and the rapidly evolving world of independent media. The festival features professional speakers, creative minds, and notable mentors that are there to help you tackle the latest media making trends and technology. And of course…the awards will be given to honor and celebrate your amazing work.

Check out our Award Winner Highlights Video here

Here are the MVCC winners:

PROFESSIONAL WINNER: Art on the Commons Artist Series, Liberty Lord, Shayna McConville Andrew Dailey
PROFESSIONAL FINALIST: Earth Transformed, Liberty Lord, Rosewood Art Centre

PROFESSIONAL FINALIST: Pioneers of the Soldiers Home Grotto and Gardens, Robert Kincses, Liberty Lord, Cindy LaPointe-Dafler, Wade T Oberlin

NON-PROFESSIONAL DIVISION WINNER: Halloween Spooktacular 2021, Mike Sopronyi, Danny R.O., Shawn A Green III, Greg Nichols, John Golub, Joe MacKenzie, Ray Gambrel

PROFESSIONAL WINNER: Fire Safety In The Home: Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detectors, Josh Whitehead, Heidi Van Antwerp, Richard Diaz
FINALIST: Kettering points of interest Bicycle Tour, Carl Suchomel

FINALIST (TIE): Counseling Services at Central State University, Kathryn Mobley
NON-PROFESSIONAL DIVISION WINNER: Countdown To Afterlife, Mike Sopronyi, Shawn A Green III, Greg Nichols, John Golub, Danny R.O., Ray Gambrel

PROFESSIONAL WINNER: 2021 West Carrollton State of the City Address, Mayor Jeff Sanner, Heidi Van Antwerp, Richard Diaz

PROFESSIONAL FINALIST: Close Before you Doze, Carl Suchomel

The following programs were given additional recognition by the Philo judges and have been nominated for their excellence in the respective categories.The official winners will be announced live at the Philo ceremony on Friday, November 4, 2022:

Fire Safety In The Home: Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detectors, Richard Diaz
2021 West Carrollton State of the City Address, Richard Diaz
Ask for a Crisis Intervention Trained Officer, Richard Diaz
Close Before you Doze, Carl Suchomel

Centerville Americana Parade 2021

MVCC Game Of The Week
Earth Transformed

bookmarkcrosslist linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram